Skip to content

Neal’s Visual Summary of your TEDs (or LEEs)

May 1, 2012

See TALKS

I screen captured some images of each of the presentations and inserted them in a Keynote presentation (the MAC version of PPT) and was originally looking to a collage of the images on one screen, but then I inserted each image on separate screen and added a title to what I thought your big idea was about, but THEN I thought a better way would be to insert a title about how I thought about the implication of your big idea. Then I narrated about the connections between the 8 TEDs. My first narration crashed when I hit the wrong key. Take 2 on another day, but it was better and shorter. For what it’s worth. I broke my own rule. I did not script this, but I thought I could wing it here, as I run out of gas in May. I try sometimes to provide feedback on everyone’s work in two ways: individual f/back, then collective f/back.

plan b url: http://www.screencast.com/t/sAUg82vwS

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 5:42 pm

    Excellent way to package it all up for all of us. I always love the taking presentations. I think they add so much, and I can appreciate first hand what goes into them. Kudos for doing this all without a script. I would not have known.

  2. May 2, 2012 6:27 am

    There’s probably a visual way to represent everyone’s work across the Visual Activities – a linear info graphic perhaps. It’s a time issue. Maybe individual movies that are linear presentations.

    What I’m thinking about is that how we FINISH courses as instructors may need more work to document/archive, but that we use media presentations to summarize this work, rather than just archiving individual works. That’s important for individual portfolios, which I hope people manage in some ways.

    But with the blogs I don’t have a convenient way to archive everyone’s work – one of the downsides to a blog as instruction, one of the plusses for CMSs.

  3. May 2, 2012 3:51 pm

    This was a good way to an end the course, and put some closure to it. I appreciate and agree with your point on paying attention to how we finish courses. We finish and conclude lessons, but typically not the entire course. It helps to understand the point and purpose of all the work, activities, readings, etc.

    I also like that you discussed your interpretation of our presentations. In hindsight, it would have been good to do this with a friend or colleague as a way of proof-reading. We sometimes get too close to our work and forget that it may not be saying what we think or intend it to say.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the course; it was challenging in a refreshing way. Thanks!

    • May 2, 2012 5:55 pm

      The idea of a peer developer/critiquer would be a good one – worth keeping in mind for next time (most likely this course will be offered every other year) AND for a media production course where I’d start WITH the TED Talk and work out form there.

Leave a Reply

