Skip to content

My TED Talk, based on a big idea mentioned earlier in the course

April 3, 2012

 

My 11.00 TED

Again, length should be dictated by WHO-WHAT-HOW. If you were doing an actual TED Talk at the various sanctioned locations for these, the expected length is 18.00 or less. Most presentations have constraints on time. Time length is one time-factor. Another is the time-of-day. Late day presentations can be deadly dull if you’ve sat through a full day of presentations. Time restrictions figure in to your HOW (treatment) decisions.

You can see in my HOW/Treatment decisions that my 11.00 version falls short of what I thought I might do. I decided that  posting an example sooner rather than later would be the better decision. Treatment is not always something you can determine up front. I could fiddle with this presentation forever.

Audience/WHO Those enrolled in IDT 640 Visual Literacy
Purpose/Content/WHAT Pedagogical Purpose 1: demonstrate what a TED-like TALK might look and sound like. Content Purpose 2: Convince audience of the need to invest more time in making personal decisions. Thus, this is a persuasive presentation.

Content: Examples of personal decision-making to demonstrate how important they are, but also how much time they take. (1) Introduce the conceptual answer: THURSDAY. Explain how a literal use of THURSDAY would address the problem. (2) Then explain how a metaphorical use of THURSDAY means first making these decisions. This example involves nutrition and making good food choices. Then (3) itemize what consumers need to do to become invested in their lives.

Treatment/HOW
  • Show personal examples of consumer decision-making through pictures.
  • Visually show examples of my nutrition decisions: video of freezer, kitchen, cooking and still images of CSA boxes, recipe and menu planning books.
  • Use headings or headlines to identify/summarize key personal topics or features of the lives we live.
  • Use visual images of action steps. Then use text to summarize list of action steps.
  • Use PPT to move images and include text; use Camtasia to record audio and computer screen action. Insert video clips and other still images. Edit video sequences. Maybe add music if there is time.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2012 2:25 pm

    Not that I would expect anything else, but this was truly excellent! Thanks for putting the effort into this. I got a lot out of it, and I think it was perfect.

    • April 4, 2012 6:27 am

      I opted for getting an example posted. I could have really tweaked this, but I didn’t want to intimidate anyone. These sort of productions are never done, and if you’re a “producer” you always want to return and revise.

  2. April 5, 2012 12:43 pm

    Yes, I second Lee, Thank you for posting your talk. I really helps to see an example and also to see how the treatment doc and presentation work together.

    I love the Thursday idea!

    • April 5, 2012 2:24 pm

      From now on you just say “Thursday,” and you understand that “there’s another example of how you have to pay attention.” If you kept a Thursday list generated from watching the news, you’d be amazed about how much work is front of us. Private language is useful. Speeds things up or wastes less talk.

  3. April 8, 2012 2:00 pm

    Thanks for doing this, I loved it! Very simple, great use of illustrations, and well laid out. I know I’ve been over-thinking this one, and this helps to bring things in perspective.

    Out of curiosity, and this may help others, did you splice multiple voice clips, or do it in one shot?

    • April 8, 2012 7:00 pm

      I narrate the whole thing in Camtasia Pro, save the file, then go back and edit out the multiple takes or other problems. At this point I may insert other still images or other video clips to augment or replace what’s originally narrated. Some of it I plan in advance. Some of these decisions are based on-the-spot – this really comes from experience at knowing what one can do in the time one has. It’s tempting while narrating to stop and start again, but I just keep going, make notes on the script, and come back and edit.

      Then I export the file to screencast.com. I try to keep the narration natural. I’ve been editing audio and video since 1969 so it’s second nature. These skills will be needed by instructors in the near future to produce pieces like this on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

