Skip to content

Design and Development Research course for Fall 2012

March 18, 2012

Monday, March 19 begins the first day for graduate student enrollment for summer/fall courses.

HIGH ENROLLMENT COURSES: IF you are thinking about taking any research method course, such as either EDP-STATs course or SCFD-Qualitative Course, I would promptly enroll in that first thing on Monday – these will fill fast. SCFD = Social and Cultural Foundations. SCFD used to be in our department, but with Sam Stack moving to C&I/Literacy Studies department, he took that set of programs with him.

Lee sent me an email note earlier this semester about wanting a way to talk about Research Questions. These should come up in EDP 612 Intro to Ed. Research, but he suggested needing more attention on them. So I DECIDED TO OFFER IDT 693 DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT RESEARCH for fall 2012. This course will be my first F2F course in 2 years. It is scheduled to meet Monday’s, 4.00 – 6.50 pm in 510 Allen Hall.

Below is a post-card flyer summary image of the course:

The book will be: Design and Development Research by Rita Richey and James Klein, two leaders in the IDT field. IF you are thinking of doing a dissertation studying the development of a course, a software or application product, or a development of a teaching model, then Design and Development Research is a possible methodology for you. I have used this approach most of my academic career, as my dissertation used this approach. I will have a syllabus later this semester. I don’t expect high numbers for this course, as it’s not required. For a Program of Study, this course could be used as an elective research method course for the Research Core, required by all college doctoral programs.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 3:09 pm

    This course sounds very interesting and I have some idea of the topic or topics but not really focused on any yet. How would anybody like myself could benefit from this class? Is finding a topic at the end one of the learning goal for this class? I am interested in but at the same time not sure if this is something plausible for me (finding a solid topic at the end)

    • March 18, 2012 4:36 pm

      you start with some idea at the beginning, use a research proposal to work through the idea, and then at the end, you can decide maybe what you might want to do, either revise the proposal idea or go off in another direction. One should use the course to “play” with some ideas, but to get serious about one.

  2. Lori Ogden permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:35 am

    I am really excited about this course! I am signed up and already bought the book šŸ™‚

    • March 19, 2012 9:08 am

      Me, too. I like the research side of things anyway, and if you go the doc program route, one must pass through this set of abilities. If people would just start with curiosity and build on that, they might be OK. I don’t want to hear “I don’t know what to study.” One has wasted one’s time in a program.

Leave a Reply

