Skip to content

Vegas Run

March 12, 2012

I spent last week mostly in Las Vegas, my 12th visit. Each return finds new hotels built and old hotels imploded. Vegas is a sensory overload and 3 days are about all I can manage. JoJo and I were at the National Association for Professional Development Schools (NAPDS) conference for teacher educators. PDS is a model of teacher education which strongly involves university and public school teachers in developing new and experienced teachers. WV has 10 teacher education programs, all of which use a PDS model, very rare I believe. The WVU program is the only 5-year program involving dual degrees, BA and MA.

JoJo and I were there to present, so here are pictures proving we were there:

Here’s JoJo with her co-presenter. We were both blessed with having our presentations scheduled the first day of the conference. Here’s a picture of me and my co-presenters later in the day after we had finished and had changed clothes for a night out on the town. The two young women on the left are new teachers learning at East Dale Elementary in Marion County. Sarah is the program coordinator of the teacher ed program. I’ve worked with Sarah for many years. She’s been involved in the program from its inception. Also a Morgantown native.

Close to 30 people represented WVU. Another reason we were in Las Vegas was to accept one of several Exemplary PDS program awards. I drafted the proposal for this – took me most of September to complete, a data-driven proposal where I had to pull results from a lot of internal sources. But here we are grouped together after the award session:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 6:25 pm

    It was nice to meet you face-to-face. Thanks so much for the picture, and congratulations on the PDS award!

    • March 13, 2012 11:33 am

      Yes, a highlight for me. I wish we would have had some time! I’m still recovering.

Leave a Reply

