Skip to content

Nonverbal Revisited

February 28, 2012

I’m reading The Silent Language of Leaders: How Body Language Can Help or Hurt How You Lead, a book by Carol Kinsey Goman.

Despite all of the online we do, F2F and F2-everyone on video are powerful ways of communicating. When I was a radio announcer I had to use my voice to communicate – to entertain, to get people to work in the morning – I did that with humor, upbeat energy, music, and news/sports. But I frequently worked in person in public as a sports announcer (i did play by play of BB), live remotes, even working in live music spinning records. Nonverbal was a second language that made the live communication really work. When you work in a bar spinning records, something I call “crowd control,” you had to do more than just cue up records and dance up and down. You had to interact with the audience with voice and body. People don’t just want song this, song that – they want a show.

Anyway, here’s a link to some videos by the author of the book – esp see the one about children.

I do a lot of nonverbal in my day job – teaching, meetings, presentations. I make a living by talking and writing. Esp. meetings – I am rarely quiet in meetings. But I do listen and I try to be intently in the moment at meetings. People think its coffee, but it’s really paying attention. So, I’m conscious of body language and what I’m saying with body languages, facial expressions.

When I present next week at a conference, part of its success will be how I move around the room, engage the audience, and tell a story. I will have with me 2 new teachers from East Dale Elementary – they will be the real stars, as conference goers, esp. in teacher education, love to see their STUDENTS strut their stuff. Mostly, I’m setting the stage in my part of the presentation, setting the stage for them. So my text/PPT visuals are really supporting actors to the graduates of a teacher ed’ program.

The big idea of the book is that your professional future will depend in part on how you project and communicate with nonverbal. It’s more than what you know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

