Skip to content

Week 4 Course Advisory – Nonverbal Due – Cartoons

January 29, 2012

V4 due Monday, January 30, Nonverbal Image. 5%. We could not teach well without nonverbal communications. Even online there is nonverbal going on with how we write about what we post, what we post, and the communications between us. This is a totally fun activity, however. Please comment on peer postings. Below is my example of a nonverbal image. Lee, who is enrolled in THIS course will be laughing (left), and I might have him comment on it instead of me.

V5 due Monday, February 6, Cartoon. 5%

Giving you practice in developing a single or multiple panel cartoon communicating some reaction, feeling, or opinion. Use the APPs listed on the Visual Activity Guidelines.

Multi-panel usually needs bubble-conversation. Instead, if you post a single-panel we can provide the captions in our comments. Your choice.

Review the video clip I originally produced for IDT693 Teaching with Visuals. I re-purposed the clip for our use and took advantage of that decision as you’ll see in the 21.10. Take note of such things as I am making production decisions (teaching decisions), something you’ll be doing in the TED-Talk.

FYI: References for Comics

A related topic to cartoons are comics, which is a huge topic itself. We don’t time here but here are some resources, if you’re interested:

Understanding Comics, Reinventing Comics by Scott McCloud. An authority. Most likely find these 2 titles in any Barnes & Noble.

Visual Storytelling: The Art and Technique by Tony Caputo. For serious work on using “fantastic” images to tell a story, especially scenes/levels of imagery, design principles (clarity, realism, dynamism, continuity, immersion), lighting and color, timing/pacing.

Two serious texts on interactive writing – appropriate for educational as well as entertaining purposes:

Pause & Effect: The Art of Interactive Narrative by Mark Stephen Meadows. Also an interesting example of formatting a physical book.

Labyrinths: The Art of Interactive Writing and Design by Domenic Stansberry

Public school use:

Caped Crusaders 101: Composition Through Comic Books by Jeffrey Kahan and Stanley Stewart

Teaching Visual Literacy Using Comic Books, Graphic Novels, Anime, Cartoons, and More to Develop Comprehension and Thinking Skills by Nancy Frey and Douglas Fisher.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2012 7:24 pm

    Great candid pic! I had no idea this existed. To frame this a bit, this was from a number of years ago when I was an M.A. student in IDT. The woman sitting next to me is an incredible person and teacher named JQ Ogden.

    Two of my favorite things about this program have always been how much I learn from peers, and how much we all bring to the table. JQ took me under her wing when I was new to the program and helped learn quite a bit. When there was an in-class assignment to do, on Neal’s famous “blue sheets”, we would always team up.

    As I recall, this one had a bit of an internet research component to it. JQ helped me overcome so of my “analysis paralysis” issues when given a task and not being sure where to begin. In knowing us, and looking at our faces, I see determination in hers, and a bit of “looking but lost” but on track on mine.

    The funny thing that just happened seconds ago is I caught myself thinking about this post, looking down at my notebook, and in a moment of pause, covering my mouth with my left hand! 🙂

  2. January 30, 2012 3:37 pm

    First, I love how you titled this “shameful repurposing”. My husband is in the software development industry, and they call it “strategic reuse”. I enjoyed the video and especially liked the comic examples. I particularly related to the one related to teaching to the test, as that was an issue for me when I completed my student teaching several years ago outside New Jersey. We were somewhat limited in how much creativity we could employ. Thank you for exposing us to some tools we can use in our comic development, as I have very little drawing ability.

  3. January 30, 2012 5:21 pm

    @tjbeckley – if you can write the alphabet you can draw. As time permits, I will do a short tutorial and post it on my blog. As for shameful repurposing, I am a firm believer in the old adage, “Don’t re-invent the wheel!” Several years ago, I created a cartoon character named Avocado Jones. I used it in a project when I taught high school home-economics. Last semester (5 years later) Avocado reappeared when I took a gaming course with Dr. Ahern. My original marketing project ended up becoming a pretty snazzy educational game. And I’m quite sure that will not be the last adventure of Avocado Jones. =D

  4. February 6, 2012 11:50 am

    Dr. Shambaugh, I had fun doing the project in your online publishing class. I gift my creation, Bowtie’s promise if my friends have younger children. It was a great experience and I talk about the class and the project whenever I get a chance. I used several cartoon sites you talked about in the video but ended up drawing my own. Sometimes cartoon delivers ideas other time it also evokes certain feelings. With cartoon sites it limited what I could control, so I ended up drawing my own. I loved you talked about my project! Yes I was saying that’s mine with the video.

Leave a Reply

