Skip to content

Image Collection

January 24, 2012

Emotional

Left photo: my Father passed away a few years ago and my Mom sent me all of his books on the American West. I’m from Wyoming, so I grew up there. Most important objects I own. I have probably 2 more shelves of books to join these – saving up for a nice cabinet appropriate to them. I wanted to keep HIS collection intact. I want to write about his collection and about him – another project. At his burial I remember saying to myself: “Rest now. I’ll take it the rest of the way.”

Right photo: two 2008 graduates from the 5-year teacher education program. I’ve invested many years in these new teachers. This photo is at a “social event” at the end of their program. The hardest thing for me is to “let them go.” But you have to.

Disturbing

I hate these photos. I just finished reading a book about the Pentagon, built in 1942 and rebuilt in one year after 9-11.

Persuasive

Monday through Friday workouts on the BowFlex in what was once the dining room. First thing before work. Gets oxygen in me. The metal horse in the far corner with a mocking whinney reminds me not to take all of this too seriously. It’s all about feeling better. I dislike the idea of paying a gym to work out in. I was a cross-country guy in HS and briefly in college, so I have the discipline down.

Motivational

My favorite bands over my lifetime have been: Moody Blues (6os-70s), Rush (80s-present), and Porcupine Tree (2009-present). Steven Wilson, seen here, plays guitar in this band, but he learned piano as a kid. He’s around 35 and regarded as a genius of creating, recording and producing. He also has sidebar projects with No-Man and Blackfield and produces solo works. PT is a progressive rock band, so their music is not the taste of the masses. My listening experience totally changed when I heard “The Incident” in 2009 on a drive from Morgantown to southern West Virginia  country roads. I would say this is what my brain sounds like.

The right photo is the studio in his house – pretty low key. Again, connected to our physical work spaces. I feel very comfortable in studios, mostly audio production having been a radio announcer many years ago. Wilson is self-taught in everything and a true artist, meaning he’s called to create whatever and pays no attention to critics. He’s a quiet guy and motivates me to stay close to my real work, which I might write about later. Check him out on wikipedia or this link which is more about recording/studio.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori Ogden permalink
    January 26, 2012 10:17 am

    I love the picture of your father’s books. Books are so personal, how nice too have such a wonderful keep sake in your home.

    The disturbing photo is SO disturbing, I will never forget that day.

    • January 29, 2012 10:05 am

      I want to write something about these books and that goal forms the basis for some story or book (that I’m writing for me, mostly) about the books chosen, about the people in the books, about the West, and about the Father in the process. There are multiple stories here – appeals to me as a writing challenge, but also as a way to honor that collection more than just finding a nice piece of furniture.

  2. January 29, 2012 7:22 pm

    I like that this assignment works with meaning in two ways. FIrst, the author, or poster, exhibits an image that evokes an emotion or feeling in them, at a personal level. Then, the viewer has some sort of response to the image. What is interesting is that each person is affected by the image differently. For example, an image of the Trade Towers on 9/11 is indeed very powerful, yet it will have as many different meanings as viewers. It is in fact disturbing, but the “why, exactly?” is another story.

  3. January 30, 2012 9:15 am

    It is interesting how photos remind you not only of the event, but put a visual in your head of where you were and who you were with when you first saw the image.

Leave a Reply

