Skip to content

Week 3 Course Advisory V1-V4

January 23, 2012

I check your blog sites several times a week and note if the Visual Activities have been posted. I’ll comment if I have something to add. I post the points on the eCampus site.

I’m using this course to see if an external blog site works as an educational delivery and content management system (CMS). My #1 reason to go with WordPress is that it’s way more visual than eCampus. WordPress is a blogging application, although WordPress folks will say that its site is a CMS. There are CMS features, but whether WordPress works for us is something I want you to think about. With low enrollment (7) we can jointly monitor what is going on, but it requires new habits on your part. The weekly course advisories replace my typical email messages.

V1 was a draft of your WordPress blog. It’s worth 15%. I assign these points at the end of the course, based on posting of required word, weekly posting of visual example, and feedback on peer submissions. I’m not keeping score on f/back for all peer submissions – comment when it’s meaningful to do so. Please make sure that you allow others to post comments.

V2 posting of your workplace(s). 5% V3 due today Monday, January 23, Image Collection. 5%. Always see the Visual Activities Guidelines and post your image-collection on your blog. See the power of visuals, and also as an instructor, I learn more about you.

V4 due next Monday, January 30, Nonverbal Image. 5%. We could not teach well without nonverbal communications. Even online there is nonverbal going on with how we write about what we post, what we post, and the communications between us.

1. For a totally fun nostalgic view of how nonverbal works in conjunction with speech, check out the Whose Line Is It Anyway clip

2. Nonverbal is much more than making faces (below) and NonVerbalHandout

3. Examples of nonverbal images, badly staged:

NonVerbalCollection

V5+  The activities will get increasingly involved, particularly with V5 – Information Graphic. I’m taking your work histories and trying to develop an info-graphic as an example and actually experiencing what it means to develop one. It’s harder than it sounds.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 8:51 am

    I have never seen that show in the clip, but that was hilarious. Thanks for the example!

  2. January 23, 2012 12:59 pm

    I have never seen that show either…really funny! I agree that non-verbal communication is an important element in the classroom. Teachers must be aware of the non-verbal messages that their students are sending and additionally be aware of the non-verbal messages that they are sending to their students. It is usually pretty obvious to students when a teacher is uncomfortable with subject-matter or does not agree with a rule that they have to enforce. It is easy for a teacher to send mixed messages and not realize it.

    As I was reading the handouts, I thought about the loss of nonverbal communication in online classes; you lose eye contact, facial expressions, gestures, and paralinguistics. It can be more difficult to sense humor or sarcasm or the true tone of what is being communicated. (This would be true when responding to students through email as well, instructors must be aware of how the message can be perceived.)

  3. January 23, 2012 10:01 pm

    I LOVED Whose Line is it Anyway?! When I taught music, I used the “Hoe-Down” to teach lyric writing. I agree with the handout about laughter. When I first began teaching, I was taught, “Don’t smile til Christmas”. It was very much AGAINST my fun-loving nature, and created a tense classroom atmosphere. After I wised up and loosened up, my classroom’s climate was much improved, and the students were more successful. I agree with logden’s comment about losing nonverbal communication in online classes – hence the advent of EMOTICONS! =D

  4. January 30, 2012 3:11 pm

    Now that I’m getting more into this course structure, I completely agree with your choice to go with Word Press over E Campus. I can’t imagine how you could use E Campus to accomplish the flow of visual ideas that we can accomplish here. Given my role with Extended Learning, I often find myself promoting the technology that we support, but I think we need to make sure that we’re supporting and promoting the technology that makes sense for the delivery intended. I hope we continue to allow these decisions to be made at the local (faculty) level.

Leave a Reply

